Fantasy World Dwellings

Photo by

Janet Beasley

Find your place of peace, and visit it often


Hello everyone! So great to see you here.

Regular blog posts are still appearing on Mondays – but with a little bit of a twist. 



Due to the enormous success we have had with Maycly – I need to get busy on the next 5 novels…you read right…5 more novels! For this reason, every Monday we’re going to head to the archives and the postings will be some of the coolest and most helpful blog posts I made throughout 2011 and early 2012. This will allow me the much time needed to let my creativity run wild and write, and write, and write. 😉


Not to worry, I’m not abandoning my fans – I’ll still be at your fingertips through comments here on the blog, email, Facebook, Twitter, Pintrest, and other social media. 


So, without any further ado – welcome to the past!


Original Post Date:

4 / 18 / 11


Hello all you great and wonderful fans – both charter and new! I just want to say a huge THANK YOU to all of my supporters out there…seen or unseen…your encouragement and shared enthusiasm are the magic that keep writers like me ticking! 


~     ~     ~


WEEK 8 VIDEO – Fantasy Dwellings

To watch the video please visit: http://www.JLBCreatives.blogspot.com

WEEK 8 TOPIC POST:

     Luxury definitely has its place with all of its amenities…and who doesn’t love the treatment? And I’m always out for some Fun where ever we go. But when it comes down to making only once choice, I would have to type the word “Woodsy” for my Spring Break dwelling on Maycly. I love nature and all it has to offer. The quiet sounds of the evening insects, morning songbirds, and the smell of natural wood interiors are very relaxing to me.


     If you ever decide to write a fantasy novel, you’ll find there’s so much more to it than just the great story you have in your mind. Often times you’re not even writing, but researching about things you didn’t even know you were going to need. Yes, the fun part of writing old style fantasy is getting to be creative, but even the “made up” parts have to appear real to your readers.


     When it came time to create the dwellings on Maycly, I discovered there needed to be several types. Some big, some small, some quaint, some wicked. So, I changed gears from writing the story, to taking the time to study and think about just what kind of dwelling each type of my characters would have, what would the shops look like on Maycly, what if the inhabitants wanted to camp out – would they use tents or something else? You can see where this is going…not everybody has a one story ranch house in a perfect suburbia setting when it comes to a fantasy world.

~     ~     ~


WEEK 8

Pic N’ Thought

from Janet

Be a bright spot in someone’s life today.  

You just might restore their hope when all has been lost.


~     ~     ~



LINK OF THE WEEK:

     If you’re like me, you’re a dedicated chocolate lover! My favorite is the dark chocolate…the darker the better for me. (My favorite dark chocolate bar is the one with the hot chile pepper seasoning in it. Chocolaty goodness with a kick! YUM!) Second would come a good creamy textured white chocolate.


     This week’s link will take you on a journey to discover the many types of chocolate this world has to offer…with several in New Zealand! How cool is that? I’ve always been drawn to New Zealand. You could say it’s on the list with Ireland for places I’d love to travel to someday. I never really saw a connection to New Zealand for me…no relatives or heritage…just always seemed like a great place to go. Now that I’ve discovered how much chocolate is there…voi-lah…I’ve found the reason for my yearning! Check it out for yourself from this link:



     I by no means endorse this link, nor do I get money for clicks or any other stuff like that. I just like to search the web, and share cool, fun, stuff with my bloggers. Enjoy!


WEEK 8 SUMMARY:

     This week’s been fun…picking out the new dwelling and all. Remember, for The Comment Game this week type the word “LUXURY” if you prefer staying somewhere that offers all the comforts of home and more. Type the word “FUN” if you’d prefer to stay in the Chukkon Cottage (as seen in the Meet the Illustrator video) on Maycly for Spring Break. And thirdly type the word “WOODSY” if you love to dwell amongst nature in a natural setting. If you’ve got a neat idea for a dwelling that doesn’t fit any of the above categories…feel free to let us know about it.


     This week we also discovered that New Zealand is a great place for chocolate. If I ever get to go, I’ll definitely have to wear my brown T-shirt that reads: “Save the earth…it’s our only source for chocolate!” (But I couldn’t resist…there is chocolate on Maycly.)


     Share us with everyone you know so they can become part of the fun here on JLB Creatives Blog and keep up with the news. We’re fun for the whole family. You can find us now on FacebookLinkedInTwitter, and YouTube.


~     ~     ~


Have a great week everyone!

Your creative writin’ fool…

Janet Beasley




     

2 thoughts on “Fantasy World Dwellings

  1. Always fun and light of finger Janet. Thanks for sharing. I hope the book is shooting up the charts, but if not don’t worry. Christmas push will be here before we know it. xx

    • Hey David! Thanks so much for stopping by. Book is doing OK – and your encouraging words about Christmas come as cotton candy to my ears! 😉 Dar will be doing a presentation May 17 at the local elementary with Maycly. She’s going to read to the kids: first group 3 & 4 graders, then after lunch it will be the 5 & 6 graders! She’s so excited, and she’s going to Skype with me so I can say hello to the kids! Can’t wait. I certainly hope this reply finds you and Ju having a stellar kind of day – you’re so deserving, and I only wish I could wave a magic wand and bring peace, health, and overwhelming happiness to your household! We’ll catch up soon – ❤ (((huggers))) flowers and chocolate 😉

Leave a Reply

